Half Term Break
Friday 15th February - Monday
25th February

Our Curriculum

Key Stage 1 Curriculum at Our School

Key Stage 1 is the legal term for the two years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as Year 1 and Year 2, when pupils are aged between 5 and 7. This Key Stage normally covers pupils during infant school, although in some cases this might form part of a first or primary school.

You can find more information about the Key Stage 1 Programmes of Study here:


At Langley Mill Infants we use the Cornerstones Curriculum (England).  This is a broad and balanced, knowledge and skills based curriculum with a creative edge.  It consists of themed projects and lesson ideas which are mapped to the current national curriculum.  Each lesson is linked to an essential skill and national curriculum programme of study.  Every project features a weekly English plan that develops over the course of a week. As well as that, English is integral to all subjects, giving children the opportunity to use their reading, writing and language skills across the curriculum. All lessons are also mapped to social, moral, spiritual and cultural (SMSC) skills which includes aspects of the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty, mutual respect for and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs and for those without faith.

We have designed our KS1 curriculum with enthusiasm and pride, ensuring carefully chosen topics that give the children the best opportunities to meet the requirements of the national curriculum, through engaging and exciting lessons.  The KS1 curriculum is broad and balanced and we are dedicated to ensuring that all our children are able to maximise their true potential during their valuable time at our school.

Please take a look at the overviews below showing our full KS1 curriculum. We have also provided key performance indicators for English and Maths, showing age related expectations for children in years 1 and 2 in these core areas.  For further information on the children’s learning please see your child’s class teacher or the Headteacher.

Year 1 Curriculum Map A 2017-18               Year 1 Curriculum Map B 2018-19 

Year 2 Curriculum Map A 2017-18                Year 2 Curriculum Map B 2018-19 

 Yr1 & Yr2 Reading     Yr1 & Yr2 Writing       Yr1 & Yr2 Maths


EYFS Curriculum at Our School

The Early Years Foundation Stage is the framework which sets the curriculum which all schools and early years’ providers must follow from birth to 5 years.  At Langley Mill your child learns through play, in these 7 areas of learning:

 1.Personal, social and emotional development (PSED)

2.Physical development (PD)

3. Communication and language (CL)

4. Literacy (L)

5. Mathematics (M)

6. Understanding the world (UW)

7. Expressive arts and design (EAD)

More information can be found by following the link below:


In the Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception) we focus on helping the children develop good attitudes for learning. Our activities are carefully planned to encourage children to become active learners by playing, exploring, creating and thinking.  In our Early Years learning environments we meet the individual needs and interests of all our children by providing a balance between child-initiated learning, under the guidance of our staff, and activities that are planned and led by an adult.

The Nursery and Reception staff also follow the Cornerstones Curriculum, providing learning opportunities across all 7 areas through Imaginative Learning Projects.  These creative and thematic projects are crafted and themed from children’s questions and the world around them, based on the Four Cornerstones of learning Engage, Develop, Innovate and Express. They are perfect for developing the EYFS characteristics of effective learning: Playing and Exploring, Active Learning, Creating and Thinking Critically.

Please take a look at the overviews of our EYFS curriculum.  For further information on the children’s learning throughout EYFS please see your child’s class teacher or the headteacher.

Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage

Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

 NURSERY Curriculum Map A 2017-18         NURSERY Curriculum Map B 2018-19

 RECEPTION Curriculum Map A 2017-18         RECEPTION Curriculum Map B 2018-19